Community of Partnerships

  • Access to reliable and affordable internet is a prerequisite for sustainable economic growth in the Eastern Upper Peninsula (EUP). Delivering healthcare and education services effectively requires high speed internet. Banks, businesses, entrepreneurs, and local units of government require consistent, secure access to high-speed internet to reach customers. Unfortunately, service across the EUP is often unavailable, unreliable, or inadequate. This was made even more apparent during the COVID-19 pandemic. The impact of this reality is far-reaching. Equitable access throughout our communities is imperative.

    This does not need to be our accepted norm any longer. There are exciting new opportunities in expansion and upgrades of services. Recent investments by our private sector partners in our communities have improved service. The Rural Digital Opportunity Fund (RDOF) is injecting $37 million into the EUP. Local communities and schools are receiving an influx of stimulus relief. The list of opportunities goes on.

    How do we help? We start by building the community of partnerships that will share the burden to resolve inequitable access to connectivity in our region. Not-for-profit organizations need to take the lead and create the right organizational structure to facilitate everyone, public and private, working together.

    Now is the time for action! There is urgent need to leverage the collective investment of all our partners to connect education, healthcare, communities, and industry.


    For several years, the EUP Intermediate School District has been working on a cost effective broadband service for the three eastern cost counties of the UP. This goal was an out-growth of the services the EUP had been providing, since the 1990’s of internet services to area educational institutions. The holdup until now has been funding.

    With the passing of the Infrastructure Bill in early 2021, the funding is now possible. Every municipality, educational institution, and Tribe has been allocated funds to implement broadband.

Current Collaborative Members

  • Bay Mills Township
    Bay Mills Community College
    Bois Blanc Pines School
    Brevort Township
    Brimley Area Schools
    Chippewa Township
    City of Mackinac Island
    City of St. Ignace
    Clark Township
    DeTour Area Schools
    DeTour Arts & Technology Academy
    DeTour Township
    DeTour Village
    Drummond Township

    Engadine Consolidated Schools
    Garfield Township
    Hendricks Township
    Hudson Township
    JKL Bahweting School
    Kinross Charter Township
    Lake Superior Academy
    Lake Superior State University
    Les Cheneaux Community Schools
    Mackinac Island Public Schools
    Marquette Township
    McMillan Township
    Moran Township
    Moran Township Schools

    Newton Township
    Ojibwe Charter School
    Pickford Public Schools
    Pickford Township
    Raber Township
    Rudyard Area Schools
    Sault Ste. Marie Area Schools
    St. Ignace Area Schools
    St. Ignace Township
    Sugar Island Township
    Tahquamenon Area Schools
    Three Lakes Academy
    Whitefish Township

EUPConnect Collaborative

  • EUPCC Consortium Agreement

    Posted by Angie McArthur on 1/28/2022

    The purpose of this Agreement is to establish an organization through which the signatories may jointly and cooperatively construct, own, operate and maintain the educational telecommunications system and provide services primarily in furtherance of the educational mission, economic development and health services.

    EUPCC Consortium Agreement


    Comments (-1)

Community Support

  • Center for Change: a Northern MI Advocacy Group
  • Friends of Les Cheneaux Community Library
  • HSC Foundation
  • Les Cheneaux Community Foundation